Online Tools: Videos EBRSR Stroke Engine
About Us

Management Team

Dale Corbett

Scientific Director and CEO

Dr. Dale Corbett is Professor of Neurosciences in the Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine at the University of Ottawa and Scientific Director and CEO of the Heart and Stroke Foundation Canadian Partnership for Stroke Recovery. Prior to his relocation to the University of Ottawa in 2010, Dale held a Tier I Canada Research Chair in Stroke and Neuroplasticity at Memorial University. He obtained his PhD from Concordia University followed by post-doctoral studies at McGill University. From 1980-85 Dale was a faculty member at Harvard University and also an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow, an award given to early career scientists of outstanding promise. His pioneering research on the protective effects of prolonged hypothermia has led to the use of “therapeutic hypothermia ” in the treatment of cardiac arrest and perinatal asphyxia. Current research focuses on identifying cellular factors that limit neuroplasticity and recovery, and the optimal timing and intensity of post-stroke rehabilitation. His research approach uses novel forms of rehabilitation, drug therapy and stem cells.

Katie Lafferty 

Executive Director

Before joining the CPSR in 2013, Ms. Lafferty served for 12 years as the Executive Director of the Canadian Stroke Network, a non-profit entity funded by the federal Networks of Centres of Excellence (NCE) program. In that role, she oversaw programs and initiatives including the development and implementation of the Canadian Stroke Strategy and the Canadian Stroke Congress. Ms. Lafferty is Vice-Chair of the Board of The Ottawa Hospital Research Institute and currently serves on the Board of Governors of The Ottawa Hospital and the Board of Directors of the Cardiac Care Network of Ontario and the Maternal Infant Child and Youth Research Network. She also serves on the Steering Committee of the Canadian Vascular Network and co-Chairs the Steering Committee of the Canadian Stroke Trials for Optimized Results initiative. Since 2013, Ms. Lafferty has assisted the NCE program in reviewing applications for new networks as both an Expert Panel participant and Chair. In 2006, Ms. Lafferty and her husband founded Watson’s Pharmacy and Compounding Centre, which has two locations in Ottawa. Prior to 2001, Ms. Lafferty was a Principal Consultant with PricewaterhouseCoopers. Ms. Lafferty holds a BSc from Queen’s University and a Master of Science in Industrial Administration from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh. In 2010, Ms. Lafferty was recognized by the Ottawa Business Journal as one of Ottawa’s “Top 40 under 40” for her contributions in the health sector.

Cathy Campbell

Director, Communications and Knowledge Translation

Cathy joined the CPSR in 2013 after 12 years as Communications Director at the Canadian Stroke Network. She leads the CPSR’s communications and outreach efforts. Cathy worked in the media for 17 years as a newspaper reporter, specializing in health issues, and as a news editor. She is a past winner of the Hollobon Award (HCPRA) for medical reporting and was awarded a Certificate of Excellence from Hypertension Canada in 2011 for raising awareness of excessive sodium in the food supply. She has also worked in communications with municipal government and the non-profit sector. Cathy has a Bachelor’s degree in Journalism and a Master’s degree in Journalism from Carleton University.

Farrell Leibovitch

Director, Research and Training Programs

Farrell has been working with the CPSR for over 10 years, since its earliest days. He started as the Toronto regional manager, expanded his role into the manager of scientific operations and now is leading the research and training programs agenda. After completing an Honours Bachelor of Science degree in neuroscience and biology at the University of Toronto, he went on to complete a Master’s degree at the Institute of Medical Sciences at U of T. His research topic was “The Topography of Hemispatial Neglect” in which he explored brain-behaviour relationships in stroke patients who were experiencing hemispatial neglect (characterized by a failure to attend to half of space). He has published more than 10 journal articles and more than 20 abstracts. In 1997, he received the FROSST award for research excellence in Nuclear Medicine Sciences based on his research project. Prior to coming to the CPSR, he spent four years working as a clinical trial coordinator at Sunnybrook in stroke and dementia studies.

Tina Nagratha

Financial Officer

Tina Nagratha coordinates the annual and long-term budget planning processes for the CPSR. She is responsible for development and coordination of financial planning cycles and develops finance-related working papers to aid long-term planning. She also works closely with CPSR’s auditors and Audit and Finance Committee to plan and implement the annual financial audit. Tina is a Chartered Accountant (CPA, CA) and also holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Economics from the University of Toronto. Before joining CPSR, she served as Director of Finance at other not-for-profit organizations, including The Kidney Foundation of Canada (Eastern Ontario Chapter) and Communications and Information Technology Ontario (CITO). Tina has been a long-time volunteer and member of the Ottawa Chapter of Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) and has served as an Executive Board Member and Chapter Treasurer.

Karen Truong née Fan

Research Program Coordinator (on maternity leave until fall 2018)

Karen has more than 7 years of administration and project support experience in the research and healthcare field. Karen has worked in research administration with the Sunnybrook site of the CPSR as well as the LC Campbell Cognitive Neurology Research Unit since 2011, where she specialized in research grant financial management, human resources administration, general administration for various committees/meetings and overall lab coordination. Previously, she has worked at Toronto Central Palliative Care Network and the Hospital for Sick Children. Karen has a BSc from the University of Toronto with a specialization in Human Biology: Health & Disease and minors in Medical Anthropology & Psychology.

Valerie Closson

Research Program Coordinator

Valerie has more than 14 years of project support experience in the field of stroke research. Valerie worked as a research coordinator with the CPSR from 2008-2015, where she coordinated the activities of the Rehabilitation Affiliates Platform. Prior to that, she worked in stroke research studies as a study coordinator and research assistant at the Sunnybrook Research Institute in Toronto. She is currently acting Research Program Coordinator, working alongside Farrell Leibovitch at our Sunnybrook offices, while Karen (Fan) Truong is on maternity leave. She has an MSc in Rehabilitation Sciences from the University of Toronto. Her master’s project investigated the feasibility of using a modified version of cardiac rehabilitation for individuals post-stroke. She also has a BASc in Gerontology from the University of Guelph.

Outils en ligne : Videos EBRSR Stroke Engine
À propos de nous

Équipe administrative

Dale Corbett

directeur scientifique et chef de la direction

Dr Dale Corbett est professeur de neurosciences au Département de médecine cellulaire et moléculaire à l’Université d’Ottawa et directeur scientifique et chef de la direction du Partenariat canadien pour le rétablissement de l’AVC de la Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC. Avant son arrivée à l’Université d’Ottawa en 2010, il était titulaire d’une Chaire de recherche du Canada de niveau 1 sur la neuroplasticité et l’accident cérébrovasculaire à l’Université Memorial. Il a obtenu son doctorat de l’Université Concordia et poursuivi des études postdoctorales à l’Université McGill. De 1980 à 1985, le Dr Corbett a été membre du personnel enseignant de l’Université Harvard et chercheur postdoctoral Alfred P.-Sloan, une bourse attribuée à des jeunes chercheurs exceptionnellement prometteurs en début de carrière. Ses travaux de recherche à l’avant-garde sur les effets protecteurs d’une hypothermie prolongée ont mené à l’utilisation de « l’hypothermie thérapeutique » dans les soins pour l’arrêt cardiaque et l’asphyxie périnatale. Ses travaux de recherche actuels ciblent l’identification des facteurs cellulaires qui limitent la neuroplasticité et le rétablissement ainsi que la détermination de l’intensité et du moment optimaux des interventions de réadaptation post-AVC. Dans ses recherches, il se sert de types novateurs de soins de réadaptation, de pharmacothérapie et de thérapie aux cellules souches.

Katie Lafferty

directrice exécutive

Avant d’arriver au PCRA en avril 2013, Katie Lafferty était la directrice exécutive du Réseau canadien contre les accidents cérébrovasculaires, un organisme sans but lucratif financé dans le cadre du Programme des réseaux de centres d’excellence qui avait pour but de réduire l’impact qu’a l’AVC sur la vie des Canadiens. Elle a occupé ce poste pendant 12 ans, soit dès la fondation du Réseau. En plus de superviser son programme de recherche et d’application des connaissances ainsi que sa gestion, elle a guidé le RCCAVC dans la mise sur pied de la Stratégie canadienne de l’AVC en 2003, dans le renouvellement et l’obtention d’un financement accru en 2005 et dans l’organisation du premier Congrès canadien de l’AVC en 2010 ainsi que des trois congrès subséquents. En 2006, elle a fondé M.S. Watson Healthcare Inc. avec son mari, puis ouvert les portes de deux pharmacies indépendantes à Ottawa sous la bannière Watson’s Pharmacy and Compounding Centre. Avant de se joindre au RCCAVC elle a travaillé comme conseillère principale dans les bureaux de PricewaterhouseCoopers. Bachelière ès sciences (biologie) de l’Université Queen’s, elle a obtenu une M.B.A. à l’Université Carnegie Mellon (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvanie). En 2010, l’Ottawa Business Journal la nommait une des quarante personnes de moins de 40 ans les plus remarquables à Ottawa en raison de ses contributions au domaine de la santé.

Cathy Campbell

directrice, Communications

C’est après 12 ans à la direction des Communications au Réseau canadien contre les accidents cérébrovasculaires que Cathy Campbell est venue au PCRA en 2013 où elle pilotera les initiatives de communication et de relations externes. Mme Campbell a une expérience de 17 ans dans les médias à titre de journaliste spécialisée en questions médicales et de directrice de l’information. Elle a reçu le Prix Hollobon de la Health Care Public Relations Association pour ses reportages médicaux et un certificat d’excellence d’Hypertension Canada en 2011 pour ses initiatives de sensibilisation à la présence excessive de sodium dans l’approvisionnement alimentaire au Canada. Elle a également travaillé comme conseillère en communication auprès d’un gouvernement municipal et du secteur sans but lucratif. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat et d’une maîtrise en journalisme de l’Université Carleton.

Karen Fan

coordonnatrice du Programme de recherche

Karen Fan a plus de sept ans d’expérience de l’administration et du soutien de projets dans les domaines de la recherche et des soins de la santé. Elle travaille depuis 2011 en tant qu’administratrice de la recherche dans les bureaux du PCRA à Sunnybrook en même temps que pour l’unité de recherche en neurologie cognitive LC Campbell. Elle est spécialisée en gestion financière des subventions de recherche, en administration des ressources humaines et en administration générale de comités/réunions et en coordination générale de laboratoires. Avant, elle a travaillé pour le Réseau de soins palliatifs du Centre de Toronto et à l’Hospital for Sick Children. Karen a obtenu un baccalauréat ès sciences de l’University of Toronto avec une spécialisation en biologie humaine : santé et maladie et une concentration en anthropologie et psychologie médicale.

 

Farrell Leibovitch

directeur, Recherche et Programmes de formation

Farrell Leibovitch est membre de l’équipe depuis le début, soit depuis plus de 10 ans. D’abord gestionnaire régional à Toronto, ses fonctions se sont élargies pour englober la gestion des affaires scientifiques et maintenant la direction des programmes de recherche et de formation. Ses études de baccalauréat en sciences (neurosciences et biologie) terminées, il a poursuivi ses études à l’Université de Toronto pour y obtenir une maîtrise à l’Institut de sciences médicales. Dans sa dissertation intitulée « La topographie de la négligence spatiale unilatérale » il examinait les relations entre le cerveau et les comportements chez les patients avec AVC et négligence spatiale unilatérale (négligence par le patient de la moitié de son champ visuel). Il a publié une dizaine d’articles scientifiques et une vingtaine de résumés. Son projet de recherche lui a mérité un Prix FROSST en 1997 en raison de l’excellence de ses travaux en sciences médicales nucléaires. Parmi ses antécédents de travail figurent quatre ans à la coordination d’essais cliniques portant sur l’AVC et la démence à l’Institut de recherche Sunnybrook.

Tina Nagratha

agente des finances

Tina Nagratha coordonne les processus budgétaires annuels et à long terme. Elle est chargée de l’élaboration et de la coordination des cycles de planification financière et rédige les documents de travail connexes afin de contribuer à la planification à long terme. Elle travaille en collaboration étroite avec le Comité de la vérification et des finances et les vérificateurs à la planification et à l’exécution de l’audit annuel. Comptable agréée (CPA, CA) elle est titulaire d’une baccalauréat ès arts (économie) de l’Université de Toronto. Avant de venir au PCRA, elle a été directrice des finances d’organismes sans but lucratif dont la Fondation canadienne du rein (section de l’Est de l’Ontario) et Communications and Information Technology Ontario (CITO). Depuis de nombreuses années, elle est une bénévole active et membre de la section d’Ottawa des Mères contre l’alcool au volant (MADD), notamment à titre de membre du Comité exécutif et de trésorière.