Online Tools: Videos EBRSR Stroke Engine
About Us

External Scientific Advisory Committee

Members of the External Scientific Advisory Committee (ESAC) are distinguished scientists, noted for their expertise in areas related to stroke recovery. ESAC members provide guidance and counsel to the Partnership. By helping CPSR leaders formulate the organization’s goals and assess its achievements, they provide an invaluable outside perspective.

 

ESAC MEMBERSHIP

Rajiv Ratan, MD, PhD

Dr. Rajiv Ratan is Burke Professor of Neurology and Neuroscience, Weill Medical College of Cornell University, Executive Director, Burke/Cornell Medical Research Institute.

Dr. Ratan completed M.D. and Ph.D. degrees at New York University as part of the NIH-sponsored Medical Scientist Training Program. He trained in Neurology and Neurorehabilitation at Johns Hopkins Hospital, and was on the faculty of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine before moving to Harvard Medical School and the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in 1996. He has coedited a major textbook on cell death and neurological disease and he is a permanent member of the Molecular, Developmental and Cellular Neuroscience-2 grant review committee at the NIH.

S. Thomas Carmichael, MD, PhD

Dr. S. Thomas (Tom) Carmichael is a neurologist and neuroscientist at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA.  Dr. Carmichael is Professor and Vice Chair for Research and Programs in the Neurology Department, with active laboratory and clinical interests in stroke and neurorehabilitation, and brain repair after injury.  He received his M.D. and Ph.D. degrees from Washington University School of Medicine in 1993 and 1994, and completed a Neurology residency at Washington University School of Medicine, serving as Chief Resident in 1997-1998.

Dr. Carmichael was a Howard Hughes Medical Institute postdoctoral fellow at UCLA from 1998-2001, studying mechanisms of axonal sprouting, with a clinical emphasis on neurorehabilitation and stroke.  He has been on the UCLA faculty since 2001.  Dr. Carmichael’s laboratory studies the molecular and cellular mechanisms of neural repair after stroke and other forms of brain injury.  This research focuses on the processes of axonal sprouting and neural stem cell responses after stroke, and on neural stem cell transplantation.  Dr. Carmichael is an attending physician on the Neurorehabilitation and Stroke clinical services at UCLA.

George F. Wittenberg, MD, PhD

Dr. George F. Wittenberg is Associate Professor in the Department of Neurology at the University of Maryland. He directs the Laboratory for Research on Arm Function and Therapy. Previously, he was Director of the Rehabilitation Program within the Department of Neurology at Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. He obtained his doctorate degree in Biology at the University of California, San Diego, in 1991 and completed medical school in 1993 at the same university. Dr. Wittenberg had further clinical and research training at Washington University, St. Louis and the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

His ongoing research interests presently lie in using transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) and functional imaging to understand motor cortical reorganization following stroke and in designing and testing new methods for neurorehabilitation. He was the site principal investigator in VA Cooperative Study #558, “Robotic Assisted Upper-Limb Neurorehabilitation in Stroke Patients” and continues to study of the neural plasticity that underlies robotic rehabilitation. He is now developing hybrid methods of combining TMS with robotic and virtual reality training, and multimodal physiological monitoring with feedback control of robotic assistance, to maximize the return of motor function after neurological injury by harnessing activity-dependent brain plasticity.

William Milberg, Ph.D

Dr. William Milberg is Professor of Psychology in the Department of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, and the Associate Director for Research of the Brockton/West Roxbury Geriatric Research Education and Clinical Center.

Dr. Milberg received his PhD in Clinical Psychology with a specialty in Neuropsychology from Wayne State University in 1978. He completed an internship in Neuropsychology under the supervision of Edith Kaplan at the Boston VAMC, and a post-doctoral fellowship at Harvard Medical School with Brendan Maher. He holds the Diplomate in Clinical Neuropsychology from ABEPP and he is currently an Associate Professor of Psychology in the Department of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, and the Associate Director for Research of the Brockton/West Roxbury Geriatric Research Education and Clinical Center.

Outils en ligne : Videos EBRSR Stroke Engine
À propos de nous

Comité consultatif scientifique externe

Les membres du Comité consultatif scientifique externe sont des scientifiques de grande renommée dans les domaines connexes au rétablissement de l’AVC. Ils orientent et conseillent le PCRA et aident sa direction à fixer les buts de l’organisation et à évaluer ses réalisations. Ils apportent à cette fin un point de vue extérieur précieux.

Rajiv Ratan, MD, PhD

Le Dr Rajiv Ratan est le professeur Burke de neurologie et de neurosciences au Collège de médecine Weill de l’Université Cornell et le directeur exécutif de l’Institut de recherche médicale Burke/Cornell.

Le Dr Ratan a obtenu ses titres de MD et de Ph.D. à l’Université de New York dans le cadre du programme de formation de scientifiques médicaux parrainé par les National Institutes of Health. Il a effectué des stages en neurologie et neuroréadaptation à l’Hôpital Johns Hopkins et été nommé membre du corps professoral de l’École de médecine de l’Université Johns Hopkins, puis de l’École de médecine de l’Université Harvard et du Centre médical Beth Israel Deaconess en 1996. Il est le coéditeur d’un ouvrage majeur sur la mort cellulaire et les affections neurologiques. Il est membre permanent du comité d’examen des subventions en neurosciences moléculaires, cellulaires et du développement aux NIH.

S. Thomas Carmichael, MD, PhD

Le Dr S. Thomas (Tom) Carmichael est un neurologue et neuroscientifique de l’École de médecine David Geffen de l’Université de la Californie à Los Angeles (UCLA) où il est professeur et vice-président à la Recherche et aux programmes du Département de neurologie. Ses intérêts de recherche en laboratoire et en clinique portent sur l’AVC et la neuroréadaptation ainsi que sur la réparation du cerveau après une lésion. Il a obtenu son diplôme en médecine et son doctorat à l’École de médecine de l’Université de Washington en 1993 et 1994 et y a suivi le programme de résidence en neurologie, au cours duquel il était chef des résidents en 1997-1998.

Le Dr Carmichael a été lauréat de la bourse postdoctorale de l’Institut médical Howard Hughes à UCLA de 1998 à 2001, et a étudié les mécanismes du bourgeonnement des axones en mettant un accent clinique sur la neuroréadaptation et l’AVC. Il fait partie du corps professoral d’UCLA depuis 2001. Dans son laboratoire s’effectuent des études sur les mécanismes moléculaires et cellulaires de la réparation des neurones après un AVC et d’autres types de lésions du cerveau. Ces recherches ciblent les processus de bourgeonnement des axones et les réponses des cellules souches neuronales après l’AVC ainsi que les greffes de cellules souches neuronales. Le Dr Carmichael est médecin traitant dans la clinique de neuroréadaptation et de l’AVC à l’Université de la Californie à Los Angeles.

George F. Wittenberg, MD, PhD

Le Dr George F. Wittenberg est professeur agrégé au Département de neurologie de l’Université du Maryland. Il dirige le Laboratoire de recherche sur la fonction et la thérapie du bras. Auparavant, il occupait le poste de directeur du Programme de réadaptation au Département de neurologie de l’Université Wake Forest à Winston‑Salem (Caroline du Nord). Titulaire d’un doctorat en biologie obtenu à l’Université de la Californie à San Diego en 1991, il a terminé ses études à l’école de médecine de la même université en 1993. Il a suivi une formation clinique et de chercheur plus avancée à l’Université de Washington, à l’Université de Saint-Louis et aux National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Ses recherches se concentrent actuellement sur l’utilisation de la stimulation magnétique transcrânienne (SMT) et de l’imagerie fonctionnelle en vue d’obtenir une meilleure compréhension de la réorganisation du cortex moteur post-AVC et sur leur application dans la conception et la mise à l’épreuve de méthodes novatrices de neuroréadaptation. Principal chercheur de l’étude VA Cooperative Study no 558 portant sur la neuroréadaptation du membre supérieur du patient avec AVC à l’aide de la robotique (Robotic Assisted Upper-Limb Neurorehabilitation in Stroke Patients), il poursuit ses travaux en vue de déterminer la plasticité neuronale qui sous-tend la réadaptation à l’aide de la robotique. Il conçoit présentement des techniques hybrides combinant la SMT et l’entraînement en réalité virtuelle et assistée par la robotique ainsi que la surveillance physiologique multimodale avec contrôle de la rétroaction sur l’aide fournie par la robotique, afin de maximiser la récupération des fonctions motrices après une lésion neurologique en exploitant pleinement la plasticité du cerveau activité‑dépendante.

William Milberg, PhD

William Milberg est professeur de psychologie au Département de psychiatrie de l’École de médecine de l’Université Harvard et directeur associé à la Recherche du Centre clinique et d’éducation en recherche gériatrique Brockton/West Roxbury.

M. Milberg est titulaire d’un doctorat en psychologie clinique avec spécialisation en neuropsychologie obtenu à l’Université d’État de Wayne en 1978. Il a effectué son stage en neuropsychologie sous la direction d’Edith Kaplan au Centre médical pour anciens combattants de Boston et des recherches postdoctorales à l’École de médecine de Harvard sous la direction de Brendan Maher. Il est agrégé en neuropsychologie clinique, titre décerné par l’American Board of Examiners in Professionnal Psychology et professeur agrégé de psychologie au Département de psychiatrie de l’École de médecine de Harvard et directeur associé à la Recherche du Centre clinique et d’éducation en recherche gériatrique Brockton/West Roxbury.